Royal Mint new non-executive chairman named

First published in Business Daily

THE Treasury has announced the appointment of Peter Warry as non-executive chairman of the Royal Mint Limited.

The Royal Mint is one of the world’s leading mints and supplies the UK’s coinage and official coinage to many overseas countries, as well as commemorative coins and medals to mark important national events.

It recently produced the victory medals for the Olympics and Paralympics.

Mr Warry will succeed Mike Davies, who was chairman of the Royal Mint from March, 2007 to December, 2012, and will join the company in December for a term of three years.

Announcing the appointment, Economic Secretary to the Treasury, Bromsgrove’s Conservative MP Sajid Javid, said: “I welcome Peter Warry to the Royal Mint at an important time for the company as it seeks to maintain its superb reputation in its core business, while also developing opportunities for new revenue.

“I would also like to thank Mike Davies for five years of leadership at the Royal Mint, helping it develop into a world-class business, delivering value for the taxpayer.”

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree