THE nominations for new awards set up to celebrate achievement in Bromsgrove have been announced.

Bromsgrove District Council’s new Spirit of Bromsgrove Awards have been established to celebrate sporting, arts and community achievements of residents in the past 12 months.

In the running for young volunteer of the year are Lauren Beswick, Sian Jones and Adam Lote.

Nominees for volunteer of the year include Glen Boltz, Tony Maslen and Lorraine Aspland, while the nominees for unsung hero of the year are Chris Garry, Jules Evans and Ken Buckley.

Shan Moule, Roy Gibson and John Horwood are nominated for the outstanding achievement unsung hero.

Nominations for the safer Bromsgrove award are Emily Mayne, Max Field and Bromsgrove Street Pastors.

In the arts awards, the most promising individual newcomer nominees are Emma Leigh, Jennifer Onley and Sue Peters.

The most promising newcomer organisation nominees include Madcap Theatre Productions, Midwinterfest and the Orchestra of St Johns.

Most outstanding individual nominees are Jennie McGregor-Smith, Jim Page and Martina Ponsonby, while most outstanding organisation are All and Sundry, Artrix Arts Centre and Bromsgrove Concerts.

In the running for most outstanding individual in under 18s are Megan Alebon, Shannon Brown and Elliot Mitchell, while the nominees for most outstanding organisation in youth arts are Artrix Arts Centre, Rubery Festival and the Stage Door Dance Academy.

The junior sports volunteer of the year nominees are Laura Rolinson and Eleanor Smallwood.

Helen Russell, Jay Morris and Simon Burgess are nominated for senior sports personality of the year.

The sport coach of year will be contested between Andrea Paice, Chris Garry and Glenn Scott, with the sports club of the year award going to either Bromsgrove Gymnastics Club, Redhill Archers and Hotshots Wheelchair Basketball Club.

On the night a special lifetime achievement award is also being presented.

The event, being held at the Artrix on Thursday, February 25, is by invite only. Those attending should arrive from 7pm.

Huw Moseley, arts development and events officer, said: “We’re all very excited about the Spirit of Bromsgrove Awards.

"We have some worthy nominees, with some amazing stories behind their achievements."