BROMSGROVE voters have re-elected Conservative candidate Sajid Javid as their member of parliament.

Townsfolk went to the polls on Thursday, May 7, to choose who they wanted to represent the constituency for the next five years.

After a long verification process, votes began to be counted at 3.15am, with the result announced just after 7am this morning.

Mr Javid, the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, received 28,133 votes - an increase of 5,221 on the amount of votes he polled in 2010.

Speaking moments after the result was announced, Mr Javid told the Advertiser he was delighted with increasing his majority.

He said it was a honour to continue to serve as the town's MP and when asked about his personal ambitions, he said being "Minister of Bromsgrove" would always be his number one priority. 

He thanked Bromsgrove voters for their support saying he never took it for granted, and added nationally voters had supported the Conservatives as they had not wanted to see the "economic recovery put at risk".

Runner up in the Bromsgrove result was Labour's Tom Ebbutt, who polled 11,604.

Third was UKIP's Stuart Cross with 8,163 votes, fourth was Liberal Democrat Bart Ricketts with 2,616, while Giovanni Esposito of the Green Party polled 1,729.

Overall 52,426 constituents voted, with the turnout being 71 per cent - the same percentage as the 2010 general election.

Bromsgrove District Council results are set to be announced later today, and the results will be on the Advertiser's website.