BUOYANT Barnt Green have retained the Birmingham League's Graham Williamson Trophy following a fabulous weekend for the Cherry Hill side.

The Green lifted the trophy on Sunday following a five wicket success over West Bromwich Dartmouth have pulled off a prized four wicket semi-final win over Birmingham League champions Berkswell the previous day.

Green skipper Darrel Williams won the all-important toss on both occasions and immediately inserted his rivals to bat first.

Two inspired spells of new ball bowling by Andy Sutton set up the Green on their road to victory in both games.

Against Berkswell, Sutton produced a devastating opening stint that reduced the champions to 25 for three, including the key wicket of Warwickshire's Dan Mousley for 23.

Former Glamorgan player Nick James steadied Berkswell's innings with 48 and found support from Tom Lewis with 26 and former Leicestershire prospect Richard Jones who added 27.

A late blitz from ex-Derbyshire allrounder Tom Milnes, who struck 35 off 19 balls, took Berkswell to 181 for nine from their allotted 40 overs.

In reply, the Green were suddenly knocked back in their stride when Milnes dismissed destructive Warwickshire pinch hitter Ed Pollock for just nine runs.

However, Pollock's opening partner Ben Chapman-Lilley stood firm with an anchor innings to place the Green firmly back in the driving seat.

Chapman-Lilley put on 73 for the second wicket with Jacques Banton, who fell for 40.

Then the stubborn Chapman-Lilley helped Dom Harding, who scored 37, put on another 56 for the fourth wicket.

One-time Warwickshire player Grant Thornton instigated a middle order collapse, taking Chapman-Lilley's wicket in the process for 48 as the Green slumped from 157 for three, to 165 for six.

Will Baker was then joined at the crease by skipper Williams to see Barnt Green home on 182 for six with four balls to spare.

SUTTON was in sparkling form with the ball again on Sunday as the Green faced Dartmouth in the final at Moseley Cricket Club.

Invited to bat first, Dartmouth were dismissed for a below par 137 all out with just one ball of their allocated 40 overs remaining.

Sutton soon sent wickets tumbling, picking up figures of three for 16 as Dartmouth suffered an early collapse.

Omar Ali addressed the slide, striking 45 off 46 balls until he was removed by Robbie Shurmer.

Dartmouth looked down and out at 89 for eight but tailenders Manraj Johal with 28 and Ian Stevenson on 22 gave their side a glimmer of hope.

Shurmer finished with the excellent figures of three for nine off his eight over spell while Banton with two for 32 and Williams who took one for 33 accounted for the remaining wickets to fall.

Once again, the Green were dealt an early blow in reply when Johal had Ed Pollock caught at slip in only the second over.

But Chapman-Lilley again refused to budge and laid anchor to the innings as the Green proceeded to knock off the required runs.

Banton again added a solid contribution of 33 while Will Baker supplied a further 25.

But Chapman-Lilley remained unmoved, carrying his bat for 54 not out as the Green cantered home with five wickets and four overs in hand.

At the conclusion, Green skipper Williams was presented with the trophy by Birmingham League President Godfrey Lamb.